The difficulties of communion for Catholics with celiac disease


Sufferers of celiac disease aren’t allergic to wheat but have an autoimmune response to it. Our small intestines are unable to absorb nutrients when we consume food with wheat—or even food that has come in contact with wheat. There are now four distributors approved by the Roman Catholic Church that offer low-gluten hosts that are safe for our gluten-free diet—at present the only therapy for the disease. (Wheat is a requirement for the hosts, which is why they’re low-gluten rather than gluten-free.) We are only able to experience communion through the sacrament when a church uses hosts from these distributors. But in our experience only a few churches do.

Read more here


To Top